Weekly Phoneography Challenge: My Neighborhood

Technically this Weekly Photo Challenge is a ‘Phoneography Challenge’, to be taken with a phone or other device with a camera installed. In my case it would be my iPhone 5. You can check out the link to the Challenge criteria here.

The question over how ‘neighborhood’ should be spelled arose quickly. In deference to my ‘neighbours‘ to the south I will spell it their way.

When I first learned of this weeks challenge I was a bit intimidated, however once I opened up Lightroom (my newest favourite photo software) I quickly relaxed and said to myself, “self, do not be stressed”. It appeared upon further examination I had a few shots I thought worthy of entry.

Part of the question, in my mind, is what constitutes ‘Neighborhood’, or ‘Neighbourhood’, and if not taken too literally it could mean anything in your field of living. I am assuming some latitude here.

The shot below was taken a couple weeks ago of the Kootenay Lake, from a vantage point on the shore of the lake. It was a beautiful ‘spring-like’ day, a cool breeze wafted off the lake and the optimism of life carried me forward. This location is about 30 miles (50 kilometers) from my home, still within a broad description of neighborhood.

lake, Kootenay Lake, water, scenic
Kootenay Lake

The next shot is a view from my deck taken about 3 weeks ago. You can see the disparity of the weather, and such is common here in the Kootenays. Did I tell you I yearn for Spring?

deck, view, scenic, snow
View from my deck

The next shot however is pushing the boundaries, even in my mind, of what the neighborhood is. If, some may say, it’s anything in your immediate vicinity then this picture will comply, however even though I was in the vicinity of the Sonora desert I don’t really think it fits the bill. I guess I just thought it was neat, and although it’s not technically a good photo it has a certain something (at least to me).

desert, iPhone, cactus
Sonora desert
16 thoughts on “Weekly Phoneography Challenge: My Neighborhood

Please Leave a Reply

