Give Thanks

We must give thanks, have gratitude for those things we have and the blessings we receive.

No, this is not some sort of obscure prayer but a mantra we should choose to follow. It’s not lip service to a pie in the sky lifestyle but a way of life we should all follow. It’s the way things should be.

This has been brought home once again by my experiences here at the hospital. I could say I always follow this credo, but that wouldn’t be true. I TRY to be cognizant of the blessings I have and grateful for my good fortune but there are times, such as I have now, when we lament our turns of fate. We will cry “how can I deal with this”, or “my life is so poor” but we haven’t far to look, really, to see those less fortunate than ourselves.

I’m at the hospital, visiting my seriously ill sister, and yet when I enter the building I can see those many other souls whose lot in life is one of missing limbs, significantly damaged bodies or minds, and perhaps the tribulations of ongoing pain.

Are they better off, or worse than I, or does it matter? We each have our challenges, but we only need look around to see those with less.

My mother tells me a quote:

“I complained I had no shoes, until I met a man who had no feet”

I haven’t found the source of the quote, and would be happy to give credit were due, but have not seen a definitive author. The point is that if we look around we can always see someone less fortunate.

The opposite of that is that there is something good in every aspect of our lives and we only need recognize it, it’s there but for our attention.

So, give thanks and be grateful for those things big and small in your life. If we look there are so many. It may be a beautiful bird, or the scent of a flower. Notice and appreciate.
Cheers

20130522-223053.jpg

Please Leave a Reply

